BOOK REVIEW: Convert: From Adam to Christ – Part 1

I was pleased to receive a review copy of Convert and I believe that it is crucial that we understand this topic if we are to engage in fruitful evangelism and discipleship. I was especially interested in this book because I focused on this subject in my Th.M studies at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. Our behaviors betray our beliefs and our methods of ministry flow from our biblical/theological understanding or lack there of.

I operate my ministry on two propositions:

MAJOR PROPOSITION: unless our convictions are firmly based in Holy Scripture; unless our convictions are theologically sound; our theology of ministry will be inconsistent and weak, subject to the latest cultural fad or innovation.

MINOR PROPOSITION: unless we see the correlation between faith and truth, our attempts at ministry will also be inconsistent and weak, careless and indifferent to theological issues.

Convert focuses on the biblical understanding of religious conversion; becoming a Christian’ being saved; going from darkness to light; from error to truth; and from damnation to salvation.” (introduction p. 15)

The book is both theological and practical. While some may protest the necessity of a doctrinal book they need to understand that all of life is theological. Stop me if you have heard this one before but we all have a theology and our beliefs determine and drive our behavior.

My heart was immediately inflamed with a desire to read this book when I read that “Convert was written  because of the need for further convergence between theology and evangelism.”  This theology needs to drive some of us to repent of our lack of participation in Christ’s call to go and make disciples of all people, and needs to drive others to repent of their worldly evangelism practices that produce worldly “disciples”.

I have read hundreds of books on evangelism and have found that many of them lack the theological roots necessary to be worth the paper and ink they consumed. I am eager to dig into this work and to share my findings with the people God has entrusted me with as a  Warrior in the Kingdom of God.

Stay tuned!

Get your copy of Convert: From Adam to Christ HERE

“But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.”

~ Acts 20:24

Leave a comment