What is my purpose in life? Part 1

This is a question I have been wrestling with of late. It is a question for the ages that all men in all generations have wrestled with. The big answer to this question was answered well be the Westminster Divines.

Q. 1. What is the chief end of man?
A. Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy him forever.

I couldn’t agree more with this statement. I was made by my Creator and I exist for his glory. Knowing that gives me a overarching understanding of my purpose in life, but I am digging deeper, as we all must, in an effort to make the most of the time I have been alloted by my LORD in this earthly sojourn.

It amazes me that our LORD has created each one of us uniquely and has hardwired us according to his design and desire. I want to live according to that purpose as much as I possibly can, so I have embarked on a journey of seeking greater clarity and understanding of what my purpose in this life is.

I had a very dramatic conversion to Christ. In fact I met Jesus in a radical life transforming way while traveling on my own road to Damascus. In Acts 20:24 Paul described his purpose in life when he said this:

“But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the LORD Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.”

When I first read this verse it burned within my like fire in my bones. I felt the passion and truth of it in the deep and I claimed these words as my own. I can truly tell you that these words represent the cry of my heart as I strive for intimacy with the Almighty making him the passionate pursuit of my life.

So in seeking out my purpose in life I have come to understand the following:

  1. My overarching purpose in life is to glorify God, and enjoy him forever. He is my delight and treasure. As John Piper has famously said, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”
  2. I cannot and will not live for myself. My life is not of value nor precious to me in light of what I have been called to and the reward awaiting for me at the finish line.
  3. Jesus Christ has mapped out a course for my life and I must seek Him in order to find out what that is. My top priority is to finish my course.
  4. The gospel of the grace of God is central to my life. I must live a gospel-driven life fueled by the Holy Spirit.

This is just one leg of a Journey I am on in defining my purpose in life. In this season I hope to come to a deeper understanding of that purpose knowing that my knowledge, wisdom and experience in living out my purpose will continue to grow.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

